In 1865 a fire started at McDonald & McKechnie’s Lumber and Planing Mill Shop.
The fire burned the planing mill down and gutted the Dundas Baptist Church in the adjacent lot. When rebuilding the Church, the Dundas Baptists also purchased the burned-down lot, 104 Park Steet West. In 1868 the Dundas Baptists built a two-storey red-brick frame parsonage, a religious building for members of the clergy. The first occupant was Rev. J. Munro.
104 Park Street West is still standing today, though no longer part of the Dundas Baptist Church as they have moved to 201 Governor’s Road. The building retains its Victorian-style features. It is highlighted by its red brick exterior, grey brick quoins and a verandah on the front.
Later on, McKechnie of the planing mill shop went on to partner with John Bertram and helped create the John Bertram & Sons Company.
“Picturesque Dundas” 1972.
“Picturesque Dundas Update” 1981.
“The Canadian Inventory of Historic Buildings”.
T. Roy Woodhouse Family History Collection.