This early Victorian two storey brick dwelling includes Italianate windows and Gothic trim. It was built around 1848 and enlarged in 1865. It appears on the 1851 Marcus Smith map.
John Patterson, the first president of the Dundas Town Council, was the first owner. Patterson also owned the Dundas Woollen Factory and was president of the Desjardins Canal Company.
By 1869 ownership passed to Robert McKechnie, a former apprentice at the Garthshore foundry who became a partner with John Bertram in Canada Tool Works. McKechnie served as Dundas mayor for several years: 1872-73, 1884 and 1893. He was also president of the Mechanics’ Institute. After McKechnie’s death in 1909, “Stonewall”, as the house was known, was sold to John Collins.
In 1896, this house was featured in “Picturesque Dundas”.
– Information from the Dundas Inventory of Buildings, Dundas LACAC, 1994.